A Girl Named Zippy

Who: Haven Kimmel

Why: A clever, amusing, engaging memoir of growing up in the Midwest. I listened to the audiobook version, although I also own the book. Kimmel has a new book out, Iodine,  that I intend to read, along with her two other novels, She Got Up Off the Couch and Something Rising (Light and Swift) . She now lives in Durham, NC, and is a graduate of the creative writing program at N.C. State University, also my alma mater and where I now work. But I would love this book regardless of any local ties, because it’s a happy, lovely memoir.

Leave a comment

Filed under memoir, Nonfiction

Leave a Reply

