Book Meme

These are some questions from a Booking Through Thursday (link on the right) meme a few weeks ago. I liked them better than today’s question.

Name a book you have read MORE than once

Little Women, Green Eggs and Ham (I used to be a babysitter)

Has a book ever fundamentally changed the way you see life? If yes, what was it?

 When God Was a Woman

How do you choose a book? eg. by cover design and summary, recommendations or reviews

recommendations and reviews

Do you prefer Fiction or Non-Fiction?

As a child and teenager, I read lots of fiction (Nancy Drew!), but I also read plenty of biographies – every single one in our elementary school library, in fact. In my 20s and early 30s, I read mostly non-fiction as I pursued various interests from gardening to history to philosophy. Eventually I fell in love with fiction again, which I now read most often. However, I have several non-fiction books in my TBR stack (Three Cups of Tea, A Natural  History of the Senses, The World Without Us) and I still love biographies and memoirs.

What’s more important in a novel – beautiful writing or a gripping plot?

It’s all about the writing for me.

Most loved/memorable character (character/book)

So many! Jo March in Little Women springs to mind immediately, since I just mentioned the book. Emma Bovary is hard to forget, as is Scout in To Kill a Mockingbird, and Hester Prynne in The Scarlet Letter. And Huck Finn, Ebenezer Scrooge, Moll Flanders, Richard III, Lady MacBeth. Scarlett and Rhett. More recently – Hermione in the Harry Potter series, Mma Ramotswe in The #1 Ladies Detective Agency series, Owen Meany, Lestat the vampire, both Chiyo and Hatsumomo from Memoirs of a Geisha.

Have you ever given up on a book half way in?

I don’t think so. If I make it that far, I’m in it for the duration. I’ve given up after a few chapters many times, although I can’t think of any titles offhand.

Leave a comment

Filed under book chat

Leave a Reply

