A Thousand Spendid Suns and a First for Me

Audiobook review:

The reader is perfect for this work by the author of The Kite Runner, a book I can’t say that I loved – who could love that dark story? But it was a great read that was tough to put down. Splendid Suns was not as gripping, and the violence became overwhelming at times for this reader, especially listening to it.

So at one point, when I knew something gruesome this way comes, I did something I’ve never done – or even considered. I went online and looked for spoilers. I read about what was going to happen next, skipped a CD, and listened to the concluding discs.

A few days later, I picked up the book in a shop and read a few of the pages that I’d missed. Boy am I glad I didn’t listen to that while driving.

Splendid Suns had its moments, and I realize the violence was necessary to the plot. But as with sex scenes that convey intimacy without including every detail, I would have gotten the idea without the brutal play-by-play. I will, however, credit the author with creating a villain even more despicable than the one in his first work.

I also found some parts as schmaltzy as others were gory:  “She had never loved him as much as she did at that moment.” Puhleeze!

Like The Kite Runner, though, A Thousand Splendid Suns offers an enlightening – and frightening – look at life under the Taliban. But the next book I’ll read on the subject is the nonfictional Three Cups of Tea.

1 Comment

Filed under Literary Fiction, Uncategorized

One response to “A Thousand Spendid Suns and a First for Me

  1. mchughbeck

    Vee, I read Kite Runner and found it very gripping. I think I read that on a December 2005 trip to Isla. But A Thousand Splendid Suns got way too graphic. I did get through it, but had a hard time with it.

Leave a Reply

