Musing Mondays: Holiday Books

musing_mondays_big

This week’s question:
With the holiday season now upon us, how does it affect your reading? Do you have more, or less, time to read at Christmas? Do you read Christmas themed/related books?

I’ll be off work for nearly two weeks, most of it after Christmas Day, so I imagine I’ll have far more time to read. In fact, I put aside a book last week to save for the coming days off. I’ll have more listening time for audiobooks as well, traveling back and forth to visit family.

I don’t read Christmas-related books, although coincidentally, today while I was at the library looking for a new audiobook, I considered Elizabeth Berg’s The Handmaid and the Carpenter, in which the author imagines the relationship between Mary and Joseph. I passed on it this time, though.

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “Musing Mondays: Holiday Books

  1. I have much less time to do everything (reading included) around the holidays with shopping/decorating/wrapping/baking, etc. Plus, this year I have ‘childhood slipping away’ syndrome and have promised to do anything that Chloe’s little heart desires, including carriage rides, looking at lights, making a gingerbread house and more! Gerald put the Christmas lights up outside last night because Miss Chloe loves them and then he carried her out there like a princess to look at them. Oh, my…

    I don’t know of any good holiday books other than children’s books. The Polar Express is a good one!

  2. allthingsarial

    That’s so sweet, Jana. You’re a good mom. Come to our neighborhood next weekend for the candlelight tour of the historic district, complete with carriage rides – or rickshaws, if you prefer. Plus the houses look like gingerbread.

    I do know what you mean, though – notice that I said my time off was after the big day. I’ll have little time till then, between work and holiday preps.

  3. Ann

    I don’t have as much time to read around the holidays, but I try and squeeze a little in. All year round I read when i should be doing housework, etc. ! Once Xmas is over, it’s time to get ready for Isla–I’ll have the suitcases out before the end of Dec.
    Don’t read Christmas books–I try for light, one I don’t have to concentrate on too much–example–I just started “the Lucky One” by Nicholas Sparks–that’s about my speed at this time of the year.

Leave a Reply

