It’s Tuesday. Where are you? (Dec. 16, 2008)

tuesdaywhereareyouI found a fun site that asks you to share where your reading is taking you today – have you met some interesting people?

This Tuesday, I am 26 years old and have moved back to my rich family’s home in Jackson, Mississippi. It’s 1966 – the Civil Rights era – and fueled by gin, I am working with a theater group that has begun to cast black people in plays. I’m finally making my break from the bourgeoisie. I’ve studied creative writing under Eudora Welty and am transforming from a bored housewife into a playwright. (Ellen Gilchrist, The Writing Life)

In my car, I’m in 16th-century Chile with Doña Inés Suárez and Don Pedro de Valdivia, helping conquer a country by subjecting its indigeneous peoples to unimaginable violence and atrocities. But with care and compassion – in a healing, loving way, of course. (audiobook of Inés of My Soul by Isabel Allende)

Where are you and what are you up to in your reading?

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “It’s Tuesday. Where are you? (Dec. 16, 2008)

  1. Wow! You’re traveling to some great places. Thanks for stopping by!

Leave a Reply

