It’s Tuesday…Where are you? (Jan. 13)

tuesdaywhereareyouIt’s my first morning back in Pakistan after a year in San Francisco.  Last year, I got lost while trying to climb K2 and wandered into the village of Korphe.  I was impressed by the children, who gathered outside even on the days they had no teacher and scratched their lessons in the dirt. So I promised to build a school. During the past year I’ve worked as an ER nurse, slept in my car, and written 580 letters to politicians and celebrities, asking for donations. Now it’s time to fulfill my promise. (Three Cups of Tea by Greg Mortenson and David Oliver Relin).

6 Comments

Filed under Nonfiction, Uncategorized

6 responses to “It’s Tuesday…Where are you? (Jan. 13)

  1. I loved this book and hope you are enjoying it too.

  2. allthingsarial

    It’s wonderful, Margot. Thanks for visiting!

  3. blacklin

    You’ve been busy!

  4. allthingsarial

    Indeed I have, blacklin. Thanks for stopping by.

    This book makes me wonder how Mortenson found the energy, commitment, and spirit to accomplish what he did. And his language skills are especially impressive. If it weren’t true, I’d never believe it.

    I suppose his upbringing in Tanzania made him a stranger in his own land. It’s an intriguing story.

  5. Beck

    Vee, I’ll have to read Three Cups of Tea! On Tuesday night, I grabbed a Debbie Macomber Christmas novel from my mother-in-law’s bookshelf, so I was back in Washington State out on the Kitsap Peninsula in the fictional town of Cedar Cove. I was pregnant? 🙂 Fast little read, but SO predictable.

  6. allthingsarial

    Beck, Three Cups is an amazing story. Do you and Craig ever listen to audiobooks when you travel? He’d probably enjoy this one.

Leave a Reply

