Sunday Salon

The Sunday Salon.com

I finished listening to My Invented Country by Isabel Allende. It wasn’t nearly as good as The Sum of Our Days. Too many side roads, and I did NOT like the reader nearly as much. Allende went from sounding like a lively, spirited South American to a matron. The long pauses were especially annoying. The history of Chile was great, though, and made it worthwhile.

I tend to go on binges with authors and subject matter, and right now Allende is my author and Afghanistan/Pakistan is my subject. So in that vein, I’m beginning to read Paula by Allende (her first memoir) and listen to The Bookseller of Kabul. I’ll let you know what I think.

Many people tell me they don’t like audio books, but I am really enjoying the format, now that I’ve learned to discern. I especially like books read by their authors – for example, The Bee Season by Myla Goldberg, who also read it. Were she not such an accomplished reader, I would have likely lost interest in the book. I’m considering listening to something by Stephen King for that reason.

In the world of books becoming movies, I’m loving the No. 1 Ladies Detective Agency series on HBO. Last week’s episode was wonderful, and I look forward to tonight’s. I wish I could find out how many episodes were filmed. The next book in the series will be released this month – perhaps it’s already out. I should go check!

With summer ahead, I look forward to beach trips and long days spent enjoying a good read. And some good listens, because the trip to the beach takes almost three hours.

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Sunday Salon

  1. Vee, I just picked The Bookseller of Kabul up at the library today. And I’m looking forward to getting back to my life as usual and being able to read a lot once again! Woo hooooo! By the way, I finished Three Cups of Tea and loved it!

  2. allthingsarial

    Beck, I’m so glad you liked Three Cups. Isn’t it one of the most inspiring stories ever? The Bookseller is good, although not so uplifting. But it gives a lot of insight into women’s lives in Afghanistan. I just finished listening to the part about the wedding ceremony. Let me know when you get there.

Leave a Reply

