Reading Update

I’ve neglected this blog for far too long. Since I last posted, I’ve read many books and listened to a few as well. I’ll go from most recent and track backwards. I’m including links to Amazon, not because I think you should buy all of your books from there, but because it’s easy. I’m a bad book blogger!

The Story Sisters by Alice Hoffman – I read this at the beach last week and thought it quite wonderful. The book has received mixed reviews – polarized is really a better word – from Hoffman fans. This reader couldn’t put it down. It is my fave since Blackbird House, which no reviewers ever mention. Is it an oxymoron to be an eccentric Alice Hoffman fan?

The Soul Thief by Charles Baxter

This audiobook served as my introduction to the author’s work. He was nominated for the National Book Award for The Feast of Love. Soul Thief could be categorized as metafiction, which I enjoy. I was captivated by the story until the end. Hmmm. I’m glad that I’ve read his work, though, and will probably check out The Feast of Love.

Of Bees and Mist by Erick Setiawan – a debut novel that won’t be officially published until August. I found an Advance Reader’s Copy online and bought it. The concept intrigued me, and the book didn’t disappoint until the very end. Eva will remain one of my favorite love-to-hate villains and MILs. Wow! I enjoyed this book and recommend.

The Devil in the White City: Murder, Magic, and Madness at the Fair that Changed America by Erik Larson – What an interesting but gory bit of American history. If you don’t know the story, check it out – especailly if you have a Chicago connection.

The Bookseller of Kabul – I finally made my way to this so-relevant tale of life for women in Afghanistan. The author, a journalist, lived with the family and told it like it is. The bookseller sued her after publication. It’s a great read or listen.

I’ve read or listened to others, but these are the ones that come to mind. I need to keep up with this blog.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

