Changed my blog name

…because it reflects my reading tastes, and also because the former title was lame.

So, lately I read The Angel’s Game by Carlos Ruiz Zafon, and I do not recommend. But that’s just me, and I don’t review books. I just say if I like them or not.

As a measure of how much I did not like this book, I read the last few pages over about three nights. We’re talking 50 pages to go – an easy one-hour stretch.  In other words, I didn’t care what happened to the protagonist. Never cared for him from the beginning.

On the listening  front, I finished The Floribama Ladies Auxiliary and Sewing Circle. And although the title was never explained in the book – or in any review for that matter – I identified more with the characters. I cared about them, as I did not care about David Martin (of The Angel’s Game).

I do care about this poem. I wanted to read it for a dear friend’s memorial service yesterday, but I lacked the confidence and talent. Here is one of my favorite authors reading the poem I want when it is my day.

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Changed my blog name

  1. I started reading The Angel’s Game mid-September…set it aside at about 125 pages in and have not picked it up again. I am with you…it was taking me FOREVER to read this book and I didn’t care one iota about the protagonist.

    By the way, love your new name 🙂

  2. Vee, I’m reading A Change in Altitude, by Anita Shreve, right now and I am absolutely engrossed. It’s about a newly married couple who take off for a year living in Kenya. Here’s the teaser — the newlyweds are invited to climb Mt. Kenya with two other married couples. A horrific accident occurs on the mounatin and a life is claimed. The young couple’s marriage is transformed forever. It’s a real page-turner!

    Love your new blog title! : )

Leave a Reply

