Sunday Salon: Genre Jumping

The Sunday Salon.com

Fall arrived here in NC sometime yesterday evening, accompanied by the Harvest Moon. She was beautiful. Temperatures dropped about 10 degrees today, and the air was crisp. Just perfect for reading on the front porch – although yesterday was also lovely.

This weekend I read Stardust by Neil Gaiman. What a perfect way to begin the month of October, which ends in a night full of ghosts, goblins, mischief, magic, and mystery, all of which are present in abundance in this so-called fairy tale for adults. The fact that the moon figures prominently in this short read enhanced my experience, I’m sure. I’m not a big fan of the faerie genre by any means, but I loved this little gem. It was the perfect antidote to the Gothic pulp that is The Angel’s Game.

Now I’m reading Olive Kitteridge by Elizabeth Strout.  Although I have finished only the first three of the thirteen tales, I can already tell that this will be a favorite. I love books that are constructed this way – a series of stories with a linking character or element. Blackbird House by Alice Hoffman remains at the top of my most-loved books. But in Olive Kitteridge, the character, not a house, is the uniting theme, and this character is promising indeed. (Wendy, if you happen to check in, I think you would love this book.)

The year that followed – was it the happiest year of his own life? He often thought so, even knowing that such a thing was foolish to claim about any year of one’s life;  but in his memory, that particular year held no thoughts of an end, and when he drove to the pharmacy in the early morning darkness of winter, then later in the breaking light of spring, the full-throated summer opening before him, it was the samll pleasures of his work that seemed in their simplicities to fill him to the brim.

This year, I’m not mourning the passing of summer as usual. Seasons change, and so will I, as the song goes.

Happy reading by the autumn fire to all.

over_holden

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Sunday Salon: Genre Jumping

  1. moongrl722

    Love your moon pic. 🙂

Leave a Reply

