Reading list

I don’t update this blog anymore, so I’ve decided to keep a simple monthly reading list here. For convenience, I’m using Amazon links and my own rating system.

Nook books
The Last Child – John Hart **** – kept me turning the pages
Full Dark, No Stars – Stephen King ** too gruesome for me – read only the first two stories
Stiltsville – Susanna Daniel *** sounded promising, but turned out to be too much romance
The Weird Sisters – Eleanor Brown – *** interesting concept, but just okay for me
Crooked Letter, Crooked Letter – Tom Franklin  **** I thoroughly enjoyed this southern mystery – excellent characters, a page-turner
Half Broke Horses – Jeannette Walls ****1/2  Not as bizarre as The Glass Castle, but a darned good story – highly recommend as the backstory to Glass Castle
Emily and Einstein – Linda Francis Lee – *** – chick lit, but I liked the characters and concept – recommend for light reading
The Saturday Big Tent Wedding Party – Alexander McCall Smith – the latest installment in the No. 1 Ladies Detective Agency proves as engaging as all the others. I adore these characters and this series. If you’re a fan, you will not be disappointed. Yay for the tiny white van!
Rosewater and Soda Bread – Marsha Mehran – **** Sequel to Pomegranate Soup. I enjoyed it immensely. Yummy reading!
The Peach Keeper – Sarah Addison Allen – My favorite of hers so far
The Language of Trees – Ilie Ruby – debut novel. Excellent!
Hothouse Flower and the Nine Plants of Desire – Margot Berwin
The Moonflower Vine – Jetta Carleton
Among Others – Jo Walton
The Butterfly’s Daughter – Mary Alice Monroe
Violets of March – Sarah Jio
The Bird Sisters – Rebecca Rasmussen
The Vanishing Act of Esme Lennox – Maggie O-Farrell

Hardcover
The Red Garden – Alice Hoffman – ****1/2 read in two sittings. Loved as much as Blackbird House.
The Lost Summer of Lousia May Alcott – yay!

Audio
The Sunday Philosophy Club – Alexander McCall Smith *** Not bad, but not as good as The No. 1 Ladies Detective Agency. Will not pursue this series.
The Glass Castle – Jeannette Walls – ***** one of my favorite memoirs ever and first 5-star this year
Off Season – Ann Rivers Siddon – ??? – I was impressed by the writing, but confounded by the ending. Not sure how to rate this one.
At Home – Bill Bryson – **** Bill covered everything and more this time, but it became tedious at times.
Blessings – Anna Quindlan – **** – Good story, characters I cared about, perfect reader
Life Lessons –
Portrait in Sepia – Isabel Allende
Any Place I Hang My Hat – Susan Isaacs – the most tedious, obnoxious book I’ve ever read or heard, but I was stuck with it in the car for a few days.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

