Booking Through Thursday: Inspiration?

Booking Through Thursday asks this week:

Since “Inspiration” is (or should) the theme this week … what is your reading inspired by?

Great question!

I’m inspired to read books that fit my current interests. If a book claims to include magical realism, for example, I’ll usually check it out. I became truly  interested in the genre when I began traveling to Mexico once a year and exploring Latin American and Latino authors. I want to learn more about the saints held dear, the traditions, the culture.

Another inspiration is reading books that expand a new interest. When I read a fictional account of life under the Taliban (The Kite Runner, A Thousand Splendid Suns), I was inspired to read a nonfictional account – Three Cups of Tea.

Reading reviews also motivates me.  I learn whose opinions to trust, and I look for clues within each review – keywords, if you will, that make me think:  This book’s for you.

 

1 Comment

Filed under Blogging Through Thursday, Uncategorized

One response to “Booking Through Thursday: Inspiration?

  1. Beck

    I noticed some reviews on Amazon recently that looked like ringers. Maybe all the author’s friends got together and posted glowing reviews? Kind of like reviews by hotels on Trip Advisor. I’ll be reading Three Cups of Tea!

Leave a comment